Taste of Carolina

22 05 2011

So, I have to admit, I have a soft spot in my heart for Carolina BBQ, specifically North Carolina BBQ.  Don’t tell Texas, she would be pissed.  I still love my brisket, but sometimes you just want that tasty pulled pork and coleslaw sandwich.  So, I found a recipe for pulled pork that more than fulfilled that missing food group. (what, BBQ IS its own food group).   I have to say that I wish would have had the cider vinegar in my pantry as it would have made significant difference but I have to say that I will definitely be adding this to the recipe rotation.   This recipe was very easy to cut in half since there was no need for me to make a huge 4 pound slab of pork.  I cooked it on low for about 6 hours and then put my crockpot on warm since it was not quite time for dinner.

I topped mine with a store-bought coleslaw because it was a lazy Sunday and all I had the energy for was to turn on the crockpot.  I hope that you will try this if you are not anywhere close to be able to get your NC BBQ fix.

EASY CROCKPOT PULLED PORK

yield | 6-8 servings

Ingredients
1 large Vidalia onion, sliced thin
2 tablespoons brown sugar
1 tablespoon paprika
2 teaspoon kosher salt
½ teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1 (4-6 lb) boneless pork butt or shoulder
¾ cup cider vinegar
4 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce
1 ½ teaspoons crushed red pepper flakes
1 ½ teaspoons sugar
½ teaspoons dry mustard
½ teaspoon garlic salt
¼ teaspoon cayenne pepper

Directions
1. Rinse pork roast under cold water and pat dry with paper towels.
2. Place onions in crock-pot. In a small bowl, combine brown sugar, paprika, kosher salt and pepper; mix thoroughly. Rub mixture all over roast and place the roast on top of the onions.
3. In a medium bowl, combine vinegar, Worcestershire, red pepper flakes, sugar, mustard, garlic salt and cayenne pepper; whisk to combine. Drizzle about 1/3 of vinegar mixture over roast. Cover and refrigerate remaining vinegar mixture.
4. Cover crockpot; cook on low for 10-12 hours. Drizzle about 1/3 of reserved vinegar mixture over roast during last ½ hour of cooking.
5. Remove meat and onions; drain. Chop or shred meat and onions. Serve with remaining vinegar mixture or your favorite barbeque sauce.

recipe from http://www.mybakingaddiction.com/easy-crockpot-pulled-pork-recipe/

Actions

Information

One response

23 05 2011
Taiya

I personally don’t care for NC BBQ, but looking at these photos…I might just have to sample yours and then reconsider 😉

Taiya xoxo

Leave a Reply

