Weekend This & That

24 04 2011

I have to say that this weekend went by so fast that I feel I need another one now.  It started with a late night of Real Time on HBO and munching on some yummy pizza that the hubs so sweetly picked up on the way home from work.

Our Saturday’s typically start for me earlier than I would like because the dogs don’t understand the concept of sleeping in.  They feel the call of nature at 6:30am or earlier regardless if it is Saturday or Sunday.  But I let them do their business, barking the entire time, and then we all crawl back into bed.  (note, we really need to get a king size mattress)  The main activity of the day was to install the new glass mosaic tile backsplash in our kitchen.  We got a great deal on a kit that says it should only take about 2 hours to install.  That was a hot, steamy load.  Getting the tile up and on the wall was very easy, the grouting was another story.  The concept of grouting and then wiping everything off was very foreign for me.  All of the DIY shows make it look so easy and I was getting very frustrate that we are just removing all of the grout that was just applied.    So to stop and further frustration we leave it to set and get some lunch and catch a movie.  Let me just say this, we started the tiling job at 9:30am, we did not stop to get cleaned up to leave the house until 1pm.  Two hours my ass.

The lunch and movie distraction was very nice.  We snagged a sammie from Jason’s Deli and went to see “Your Highness.”  I will admit that this movie may not be for everyone, but for us, it was hilarious.  I have not laughed out loud that hard in a movie since “The Hangover.”  Fast forward to us getting back home and trying to figure out how to get the remaining grout off of those tiles so not to ruin the finish.  Needless to say we got it done and it looks great.

Sunday was a day of donuts and photos.  South Austin seriously needs a Dunkin donuts so we don’t have to make a 40 minute trek to get great donuts and coffee.  That afternoon was spent napping and a little cleaning, but mainly napping.  That evening we met up with the photographer who did our wedding for some updated photos and had such a great time.  Once we have some proofs or we purchase them I will be sure to share.

Here’s hoping for a speedy week because I need another weekend, or vacation!

Actions

Information

3 responses

24 04 2011
Taiya

The backplash looks amazing! You guys should definitely be proud of the “2 hours” of work 😉

Xoxo

25 04 2011
Dad

“Hot Steamy Load” who taught you to talk like that???? Your Granny would not approve…

Tile looks great, you guys need ti cime to OK and do our back patio tile…

Love Dad

17 10 2011
Kathy Carter

Sorry sweetie that I have missed out on all this as I have to admit I don’t look at your blog very often. That is gonna change as you do a wonderful job with it. I love the tile and I am looking forward to seeing it when Tim and I come for Thanksgiving!!! Love ya always…MOM

Leave a Reply

