What’s Up?

27 03 2011

So no posts in a while, well, that’s not so bad, but to be honest there has not been a whole lot going on around our house in the last few weeks that is exciting.

There has been a lot of gaming going on, mostly by me, but I let the hubs play as well.  I had to do something while I was recovering from having my last two wisdom teeth yanked from my skull.

There was also so baking that was much-needed even if I couldn’t really eat the fruits of my labor, it was something to do.  Last weekend I baked a single layer yellow cake that we delicious and tried a new buttercream recipe that just didn’t quite do it for me.  It was made with shortening instead of butter and I think that is where it went wrong.  But I will have to say that working with it to decorate the cake was really nice.  But ultimately you eat the damn thing and it just wasn’t as palatable.  But I did manage to take a couple of pretty photos.  But the cake recipe is delicious and should definitely but tried.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Then on this pretty lazy Sunday I tried out a new biscuit recipe.  Now I have to say I was a little skeptical on how these would turn out because there was no butter or buttermilk in the recipe but holy crap are these thing good.  I was wishing that I had some sausage on hand to make them even better.  I definitely recommend that you try this recipe.  I hope that you like them as much as I do.  Or if you are family reading this, remind me next time you are here and I will make them for you.

recipe for the cream biscuits can be found here http://orangette.blogspot.com/
recipe for the yellow cake can be found here http://smittenkitchen.com/2009/07/best-birthday-cake/

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

